Changing Technology

These days we listen to all our music by subscribing to Spotify through our three Sonos speakers.
One of the speakers is my Blip.
This means we can have the same music through the house or something different on each speaker.
Rudimental on all three at the same time is quite something!

How things have changed since l got my first record player when l was nine.
The Year was 1957 and new music was hard to come by to a little girl whose only way of listening to any sort of music was on the Light programme on the radio.
I knew of Radio Luxembourg from my older cousins but could never twiddle the knobs well enough to find it.
But l knew music was out there, somewhere.

Every week l went shopping on the high street with my mum and every week we stopped for me to look in the window of the electrical shop.
I so wanted the maroon and cream record player but knew we couldn’t afford it.
That Christmas l got the record player, my mum had paid some money towards it every week over the year ( she didn’t do credit).
She had asked the young member of staff there to select me eight records of any new sort of music.
Among the collection which included Paul Anka and Elvis Presley were three choices which are still my favourites today.
At The Hop - Danny and the Juniors.
Reet Petite - Jackie Wilson
and finally : Ma, He’s making eyes of me by The Johnny Otis Rhythm and Blues Band featuring the Three Tons of Joy.
My musical journey began.
I can only thank that man for his choices to start (in the words of Craig Charles) my musical education!

Thanks to Skeena for hosting Mono Monday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.