Operai (workers)

A stunning morning with tricky driving conditions. The temp dropped quickly going up the pass and in the fog dropped to ground freezing. The road was icy and at one point I felt the car slip. Then on the Casentino side the most brilliant sun and a lake of dazzling cloud set out below me with the runs of the valley side cutting into the fog like a saw.

These are the guys in the vast vineyards of Frescobaldi near Pelago pruning back the vines for eight hours a day.

The extra is 'our' guys taking down a massively heavy external chimney that was ugly as sin - una porcaccia, I think it was called.

I picked up my newly serviced hedge cutter and then cut some more more wood before moving on to clear around the septic tanks. We were first above the fog and then it rolled in and clamped everything in the cold before clearing later in the afternoon.

The last extra was the fog as it rolled up the valley as I descended on the morning.

I promised myself I'd not up use up my extras but distribute them throughout the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.