Similar but different

First day of 2018 Thimun (The Hague Model United Nations) conference. Almost 3,000 people this year, apparently.  Generally, it is all very similar to previous years but one important difference - this year marks the 50th session and so there are various special commemorative moments and additions.  The most important one today being the attendance of King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands, who at the end of the ceremony, after the various speeches (pictured) was the one to officially declare this year's conference to be open. Another difference is the organisers' commendable decision to take steps to reduce the carbon footprint of participants by keeping information on line rather than printing stuff, so my Samsung Galaxy Note 8 is going to be my constant companion this week. 

Finally on the 'different' front, for dinner this evening, Francis and I walked to a Tai restaurant I have never tried before.  We had the set vegetarian meal for two - such a delicious experience that I will write a review for Trip Advisor as soon as I've finished today's Blip entry !

And then to bed. Tomorrow is a busy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.