Ric - Studying the Directions

This is Ric, a good friend and our handyman for at least 20 years. He came over today to install a replacement fan in my living/dining room that has a light. The one that came with the house was fine but had no light. The one place we needed more light was over the dining table and that is where the fan is. So... I bought a new one with a light and Ric installed it. It took longer than either of us expected but now it's in place and I was able to read at the dinner table tonight. Yay!

Right after Ric finished I took off for a meeting at the Alzheimer's Society of Washington office. I just started volunteering there and was joining the group that is working on a project called Momentia Bellingham. We are modeling our project on the Seattle version of the same name. The Alzheimer's Society is one of the organizations that are working together on this project. 

Part of our goal is to educate people in our county about dementia and to help local businesses be more aware of people who use their services and are either caring for a loved one or have dementia themselves. We are also going to plan activities for these same folks but also open to the whole community, to keep the folks connected and spread the news about the disease. We formed four committees and I volunteered for two of them, education and technical. I am going to help with graphic design and help develop trainings and lead them. All of these activities are things I like to do.

Almost forgot to mention that I am now the proud owner of just one house. The lake house closed on Friday and the money went into my savings. This morning I paid off the new house mortgage and gave my brother back the money he lent me to help me buy the new house before selling the old one. So I'm a one house lady with so many fewer house responsibilities and I am so happy about that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.