A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

'The business, sunshine!'

With just 2 days work left to fulfill at Fawlty Towers, the excitement is building.

Back to current affairs. On my return from work this evening, I happened upon the whole family in the kitchen all up to their own little things. Ri however was getting down to some serious essay writing, well a two-pager anyway, wait till she goes to University! Shakespeare's Macbeth was the chosen text for her GCSE English essay tonight & seeing she was having a tiny struggle getting started, myself & Jenny offered some pointers on essay writing & technique (not that we are professionals, far from it, but we have spent the majority of our education learning to write & writing essays, so in principle we should know what we are doing!). I also offered Rithe once in a lifetime chance to see some exceptional essay examples, & so I ran giddily upstairs in search of some of my old files & folders.

After some minutes of rummaging through my stacks of papers upstairs-upstairs, I returned with a pile of my A-Level folders, as I couldn't find any of my GCSE or earlier bumf.

I flicked through some of the folders & along side the usual doodlings & drawings, I found an essay I once did for English Literature A-Level on Oliver Goldsmith's She Stoops To Conquer, a really great play & one I enjoyed learning about. This was one remark my teacher, Mr Williams - the BEST teacher in all of teacherdom, made in the often dreaded red pen on one essay I am particularly proud of. I haven't seen it for ages & had forgot all about it, but it makes me smile every time I read it. It just shows you how bonkers, but brilliant he really was. He's still teaching at my old school & long may that continue!

Hope you can read it; it did always take me a few moments. What do you expect, he is a teacher, it comes with the job!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.