Yedameister

By Yeda

Final Bouquet

Whew! I made it to the last day! It's always a little nerve-racking to see my flowers decline as Autumn progresses. But I was able to get 15 vases of fresh, organic flowers ready for the last delivery of the season. I could have filled twice that, but wouldn't have guessed it until I actually started to cut and fill my buckets.

I run a Flower CSA from June all the way to mid-October. It is the most wonderful experience ever. It's peaceful, exhilarating, and suspenseful, too. I like the saying, Food may feed the body, but flowers nourish the soul. Gardening and playing with flowers truly does lighten my spirit. It's one way I can connect with nature on a daily basis.

Now that I have delivered the last flowers for the season, I do a little happy dance! The first killing frost is due a few days from today, so very grateful I made it just in time. Next year...listen to me, I am already planning for next year! Next year I will schedule my deliveries upto October, not past it. I will plant more bulbs in the coming weeks, and prep my beds for a long winter's slumber. And I will order my seeds, plan for the expansion of additional beds, solicit more customers...

This week's bouquets have zinnia, hydrangea, celosia, gomphrena, dahlias, daisies, ornamental peppers, sedum, lisianthus, and basil. Yes, basil. Still growing like a tall hedge in my garden! Needless to say I am well-stocked with pesto and dried basil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.