Safe (?) inside a bell jar

This is a new Paul Walsh decorated utility box. In Grey Lynn. This is the first box which I photographed and blipped on 19 January 2011. That particular painting remained there into 2017, when suddenly the box became the usual drab green once again.

After a lovely long weekend away from work, I was back there today. All went well and I felt productive. UNTIL an email late in the day which created stress, related to a legislative change affecting my work, to which there is no reasonable response. 

I rode home deliberately sedately, to encourage such an attitude within me. changed and went out to buy bread and fruit. Following which I went along Coxs Creek walkway looking for a blip. Got something worth using, and headed homeward. Which is when I saw the new painting by Paul Walsh.

He has not put this onto his website, and even when he does, he doesn't explain his choice of subject matter. Therefore, I feel entitled to place my own interpretation on the image. The house inside the bell jar is an old Victorian/Edwardian Kauri villa. Grey Lynn is a suburb which developed at that time, and is full of old villas. Which are endangered, as developers eye up the land as potential for modern developments. 

The bell jar which may protect them could be the City Council's Unitary Plan and the designation of some areas (including some parts of Grey Lynn) as heritage areas with controls over what can be done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.