Scattering

Actually, the kuaka (godwits) were already pretty much scattered along the length of Snells Beach this morning when I went down to the tidal flats in search of them as well as tuturiwhatu (dotterels). The latter were nowhere to be seen today, and I only saw two heron. One torea (oystercatcher) in flight (before I went down the steps). Gulls and ducks of course.

Back to the kuaka. All my photos were taken at a longer distance than ideal, as they kept up the akittering scattering I have experienced this summer. I wonder if there are too many dogs and people running at them, as in previous years I could get much closer than I am able to manage this year. 

Despite the problems, I was able to get this photo which is straightened slightly, and enlarged by cropping out the excess water.

A very quiet and relaxing anniversary was enjoyed by S and me at the beach on our own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.