Anniversary display

Many years ago on this day of the year, S and I were married and began the formal part of our life long commitment to one another. That commitment has remained strong, and has been strengthened by our joint commitment to being the best parents and (more recently) grandparents that we can be.

This evening I read a Scientific American article about truth, facts and the new US President. Unlike Mr Trump, scientists (and both S and I regard ourself and each other as thinking scientifically) accept that nothing is ever proved true; but something may be proved false by only one test. Our relationship has stood the test of time because we have ensured that falsification does not occur. We do not have a need to prove anything; avoiding falsification maintains us and our whanau.

I am almost always an early riser; something that S has not ever willingly been. This morning I was awake early enough that as I set out on a run (and returning to running is a great, if uncomfortable, pleasure) I saw that the sunrise (which was not visible from the deck) was colouring the water below us. I went up the hill to where I could look down on Algies Bay, and got a photo to capture the flame in my heart which still burns as strongly as ever. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.