Life through the lens...

By ValC

Their Finest Hour

Well we have seen it.
The film “ the Darkest Hour”.
Came out feeling quite up lifted.
A brilliant performance by Gary Oldman as Churchill.
All credit to Joe Wright, the director.
OK may be the journey on the tube wasn’t exactly true, but he did go AWOL at times, and was found somewhere talking to the general public.
A very enjoyable film.
Just remember it is entertainment.

Must say I was quite emotional at the beginning, as I was thinking of my dad, and how much he would have enjoyed the film.
He greatly admired Churchill.
I remember, as a girl, the postman delivering a parcel for him. The first of volume of Churchill’s account of The Second World War.1948.
Each year he looked forward to the next edition until the last, volume VI in 1954.
Volume II was entitled “ Their Finest Hour”.
This covers the period of the film.
My blip photo is of pages 92/93.

Mum passed these books on to me, and I think at last now is the time to read them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.