Windows and Walls

Tales of a grumpy photographer.

So after all that carrying on over the special fancy-pants supermoon-blue-moon-blood-moon-ECLIPSE, I am sorry to report that I missed it! Yes, my husband and I had watched the moon rise in great splendor on Tuesday night, which was awesome.

And we planned to get up and go out around 7 in the morning on Wednesday to see the next part of the show. Though we wouldn't get to see the full eclipse around these parts, I had read that the best part if it that we could see from here would be visible from about 6:45 to 7:15 in the morning.

We were both up and about, and we put on our winter coats (for it was bitter cold, only in the teens), and walked along the road and into a great big field. And here is what we saw: nada, nunca, bupkis! Which is to say: nothing at all!

I'd awakened several times in the early morning and seen bright moonlight outside my window. It had seemed full of such promise. But either the moon had already dropped too low on the horizon, where it was obscured by a hill or trees. Or a layer of really mean clouds had come and covered it up.

Whatever it was that happened, we missed the amazing, once-in-150-some-years celestial event. Dagnabbit, the disappointment HURT. So it was with an unusually cranky disposition that I began my day.

I didn't get a chance for my customary photo stop on the way to work. In fact, I didn't really care. The light was gray. There was hardly any snow, but it was cold. It seemed like there was nothing to see. I decided I was sick of winter. Isn't it springtime soon? Grump, grump, grump.

My day's obligations took me to the Penn Stater conference center, a short walk from the building where my office is located. I took my camera along, hoping I'd come across something photo-worthy.

As I looked out one of the many windows there, I spotted this scene: neatly lined up windows and walls. The straight lines seemed soothing. If the lines line up well enough, won't everything in the world finally become orderly, and make sense? One can only hope!

Here's a soundtrack song for this image: Tom Petty, with Walls.
Some days are diamonds, some days are rocks. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.