Here and Now

By Mole

Elaine Stood Waiting

...for an answer. As a dark figure moved nearer she heard

“Well hello Elaine! It’s me, Friar Anthony. I didn’t realize I drifted so far from the monastery! What brings you out to the forest today?”

“Oh hello Friar! I felt I needed a bit of air and birdsong to clear my head. I was hoping to pick some wildflowers. What are you doing here?”

“I’m foraging for herbs and berries to collect for mixing remedies. Our supply at the monastery is quite low. And the abbot was hoping I might find some truffles, but none seen today.”

The friar set down his huge basket, reached in, and pulled out some blue violets and tiny wild pink rosebuds. “For some reason I think you should take these before I return. They will look lovely in a vase for you. Well, good day! The abbot will be wondering what’s kept me.”

After bidding adieu to Friar Anthony, Elaine sauntered down to the stream and back out of the forest, still distracted. “What a strange chance meeting with the friar”, she thought. “I must consult grandmama about the meaning of these flowers.”

~~~

Perhaps a poor abstract but duties call. I snapped a close-up of my Pantene shampoo bottle with seaberries. Artistic license was taken to link an abstract photo to the unfolding story. Only 3 more days left. This is not easy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.