Here and Now

By Mole

Remembrance

These are silk flowers sent to me by a dear friend when my father died quite suddenly in 1999. Most are forget-me-nots which I found so touching at the time. I grow 2 varieties that bloom at different times every year, and send seeds to loved ones who live out of state. My friend and I met in 1975, our freshman year of college, taking several of the same classes together and living in neighboring dorms. 37 years later we are still very close even though we live 350 miles apart. How grateful I am for our friendship that continues no matter what.

I’m also thinking of another friend who is too weak for visitors again today. This afternoon was my rotation to help feed her and keep her company. Stage 4 cancer knocks her down but not out. She still brings laughter and wisdom to all of us.

And my lifelong friend’s husband is on my mind. He’s still fighting for his life after 3 grueling years of cancer treatment. My friend (could be my sister) needs to be strong for him and is worn out herself. I ache for and with them.

No hospital visit means no excuse to avoid mounting paperwork.

I hope you all have a restful weekend.

Thanks Anni/BikerBear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.