Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Strasbourg

Back blip (and then some!)

Day five of our Rhine Cruise, and today's excursions took us into France.
We travelled from our mooring in Kehl, on the German side of the border, by bus to Strasbourg in the morning and, after lunch back on the ship, by bus again down to Colmar,

Both Strasbourg (main picture) and Colmar (extra photo) were delightful places for a visit - in fact, I would say that my trip to Strasbourg was the highlight of my holiday. I loved it.

Our walking tour of Strasbourg started at the area known as Petite France, an area just crying out to be photographed (so I did!), and we walked through the picturesque streets and historic buildings of the Grande-Île towards the Cathedral where, after a short introduction and orientation talk, we had some free time. It was a great place to just wander and sight-see.

In the afternoon we visited the lovely town of Colmar, where one of the many tourist attractions was Petite Venise (Little Venice) which is the subject of my extra photo. Colourful and attractive buildings line the narrow cobbled streets of the tourist part of town. I'm glad, though, that our visit was in October: I suspect that this place might be rather busy in the summer!

(1/2/18: And with that, I now only have one more photo to post from 2017 to complete the year. Hopefully, I'll complete the 'back blip' for that remaining day soon.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.