Silver Birch Reflections

The National Trust advertises snowdrops at Calke Abbey. Which isn't far from us. 

The weather forecast was for sunny spells this afternoon. Basil and I set off just before 2.30 pm.

Would you believe, and all sorts of naughty words, we got there at three minutes to three. The gardens closed at three. And dogs were not allowed, or at least they're not allowed during the non-winter season. If we had got there in time, Basil could have gone in with me, but from tomorrow, he is barred until next winter.

The gardens are open until four pm from tomorrow. I can take a buggy to the garden, which would be a help, as I'm finding walking increasingly difficult. Maybe next week? Poor old Baz will have to stay at home.

It's infuriating inasmuch as the Park is a marvellous place to let dogs run although most I saw were on leads.

So Basil and I went to the caff where I bought hot chocolate and a stale lemon gluten free biscuit. Why do caffs insist on offering brownies for gluten free diets? I don't like them. Sticky and puddingy. At least Basil got some tlc from a lady who took pity on him while I was ordering, which seemed to take an interminable length of time. But the assistant did carry my tray outside.

It was actually a good time to get there. A wonderful golden hour and a very pleasant sunset. We went into the bird hide where Baz sat quietly and I saw myriads of coal tits, blue tits, a greater spotted woodpecker, a greedy squirrel on the bird feeder and a thirsty rat drinking from the water bowl. There was also a brood of long tailed tits who kept coming and going. Only one good shot of one of them (see extra).

Driving back past Staunton Harold Reservoir, I was very taken with these reflections of silver birch in the water. No tripod, tut tut, so had to resort to high ISO. Perhaps I should return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.