Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

(Almost) Cloudless Sunrise

It never ceases to amaze me how a cloud laden sky, half an hour before sunrise can change to an almost cloudless one as the sun rises.  I was expecting fireworks, but in the end there was a serenity to the appearance of the sun.  In fact I felt the need to break the flatness of the water by flicking a small stone in to make this ripple.

I'm not complaining, it was a much better day than many this week.  In fact it was a perfect day for another walk, but I had other plans that meant I would be in front of a computer for some of the day.  I made the most of the start by walking around this reservoir.

Technical: Not much to say, save I used one of Lee Filters Reverse Neutral Density Grad filters to control the exposure.  This has it's darkest band in the centre of the filter, lightening as it goes towards the edge.  It leads to a more even exposure for the sky than a normal neutral density grad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.