Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Pause for reflection

Went for a detour on the way home to get some extra steps in, despite the cold and rain. "Asturias under a white blanket" say the local headlines. Not here on the coast though. Cold enough nevertheless.

Anyway, got as far as Gijon's bull ring, took out my camera and just managed to grab a few shots before it started to pour. So I started off in the direction of home and saw these lifts that go down to underground parking. I last noticed these years ago when they were ugly concrete blocks and something of an eyesore. Now they look attractive.

I was even more impressed by their coloured illumination and how it even changed colours. That was until I realised that they were just reflecting the traffic lights behind me. Doh. Still they are attractive, kudos to the people who make the effort to make streets not just functional but also pleasant.

I'm also blipping an extra for the ExperimentalPhotography challenge of Tradutor. It's a mural painting from Aveiro, Portugal of a moliceiro boatman, superimposed on a photo of Gijon bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.