Hon in Edinburgh

By honined

Avro Vulcan B.2 XM597

Today was a family day out at the Museum of Flight at East Fortune. I hadn't realised our last visit was over two years' ago in 2010, but not much has really changed. Except for the pestering power of our daughter, who managed to wrangle a toy before we even stepped foot into the first exhibit hall. I suppose one has to admire this development of her interpersonal skills. On the otherhand, I failed to interest my daughter into glueing together her own plastic aircraft model. I'm fairly convinced that model building is a transformative life-skill, if only to allow one to decipher Ikea furniture instructions. Maybe next year.

All in all, an interesting visit for everyone. My wife said she appreciated it more this time round as our little boy needed much less attention, and I think our daughter understood what I told her.

To be honest, I doubt if this shot is a terribly unique angle of the Vulcan B.2 at the museum. I thought I would shoot it with a tele lens rather than the obvious wide angle. Like many other planes there, it seems inevitable that such exotic aircrafts will never be built again. Unfortunately for an aircraft-nerd like me, that's mostly a good thing given this beast was designed to obliterate another country with nuclear weapons. But I still think it's kind of sad that everybody now flies around in airplanes not substantially different in design to the Boeing 707 from the 1950s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.