Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Some people really can write well and some simply cannot. I have been reminded of this having just finished Elizabeth Kostova's “The Historian” for the second time, which I first read nine years ago.
So now I have begun my new Victoria Hislop purchase and it is like walking into a garage door; she writes like a shopping list, or road directions. Yes if it is a novel it is still possible to get swept up into the story despite the two-dimensional characters and the rat-tat-tat-tat writing, but I suspect that this is going to be a book of short stories strung together like a child's necklace. She should write puppet shows but probably best suited to silent-movie melodrama. I'll let you know how I get on with it.

This year's new tax in Greece is called Residence Tax and it applies to rented holiday accommodation. As a result I have been required to purchase a new receipt book at a cost of 3€ for which, amusingly, I was not offered a receipt. This new tax amounts to 50 cents a night and our accountant was concerned that we should notify not only all our guests booked for this summer, but also the likes of AirBnB, TripAdvisor, HomeAway et.al. all of whom collect rent directly from guests in advance. I explained to our accountant that as far as all of those august institutions are concerned we have included all local taxes within our pricing structure and they need not worry their pretty little heads about it. I think she was relieved about that, though a little concerned that we might be paying 3.50 a week out of our own pockets. Whoops! That's a coffee! Not yet sure if it is 50 cents per tourist, or per bed, or per bedroom, or per building, but no doubt all will become crystal clear before any tourist luggage arrives on a carousel near us.

Apologies, I am running really behind with views and comments but I hope to get back in step soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.