DJs at work

I can't seem to face up to the facts
I'm tense and nervous and I can't relax
I can't sleep 'cause my bed's on fire
Don't touch me I'm a real live wire

It’s dark by the time I head into Edinburgh. I’m dining on L’Alba Doro fish suppers with Rachel and Gilbert. I’ve brought a couple of bottles of red with me (which reminds me - you should listen to The Red while it’s still available on BBC iPlayer http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09pn8jc)

I walk up to the Wee Red Bar, arriving soon after midnight. Hamish and Alasdair are heading to the cash line. Owen, Louise, and a significant portion of Peebles High School 6th year are in the bar, dancing. Dave T is on the lights. Rodney Relax and Rob Nolan have just finished their set.

Shewin (Angus) is about to start - techno tonight, rather than his usual DNB. The sounds are good, but there’s a period of smoke machine overkill - but it does hide the fact that this is a largish venue with only 50 or so punters.

Owen and I drink Red Stripe. Shewin gives way to Linn (Ferdi) who is providing the DNB. The clock ticks on towards 3 and I wend my way back to the colonies, where a mattress is waiting in front of the fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.