Goodbye, John

“Communication wasn't helped by dodgy phone signal and phone on charge where I couldn't hear it. Sorry about that, the fatted calf awaits another day”

Yesterday, my very good friend, John Davy, died. He was working on a dry stone dyke, his occupation for many a year.

Despite the many visits, I couldn’t find a photo of him in any of my albums - this one comes from Debbie’s FB timeline.

I was due to visit two Fridays ago, but instead got diverted to Glasgow. This week, I had hoped to visit him on Monday, but he decided he needed to head to Lochinver for work. So, I drove south from Inverness instead.

By Thursday it was too late. His last message, received by text on Monday night, began this entry. The fatted calf may be waiting, but John is gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.