European Grey Squirrel

Another cold, wet day, but no snow, yet. So indoor jobs this morning and knitting this afternoon, or maybe we will watch a new DVD.
 
Today’s picture is of one of our squirrels eating from the nut box, which I have placed in the border. It needs to go back on the tree, but three squirrels at least were vying for the nuts in this one. Unlike the box on the other tree, which is full, this one does not contain a lot of nuts. It had been moved, quite a distance during the night, so clearly the deer have also found it, unless the squirrels have joined together to move it.
 
I introduced the new feeding bowls to Dougal and Florence yesterday afternoon; I did not bother with the training mode, which takes several days. I showed it to Dougal who at the first attempt backed away, but after ten minutes was happy with it. He had clearly eaten food during the night, his bowl was empty. This morning I have heard the lid opening and closing and if I did not know better I would think he actually likes opening and closing it.
   
Florence, is not so keen, she does not like the noise it makes or the lid opening. However, once it has opened she is quite happy eating, so I do not think it will be long before she is also as happy as Dougal. Dougal declined to be photographed eating his breakfast, but said he might be willing to do so in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.