A single raindrop

The raindrop was actually one of many on what has been a very grey, misty and damp day.  We have food shopped, currency collected, shopped for undies, shopped for shoes, lens hood and kitchen chairs, made a lemon meringue pie and sampled the chilli made yesterday.

Thank you all for your kind comments yesterday on the difficulties I had with Mom.  She wouldn't get up for the carer again today, but she did get up for me after I had explained to her what I was doing as I stripped the bed around her and she realised that I couldn't make it again while she was lying on it.  By then, she understood what was happening around her and agreed to get up to go to the bathroom so I could make the bed.  Once there, she let me wash her hair, help her have a wash and from there it was better because she was quite willing to get dressed.  I had to put on my hairdresser hat to blow-dry her hair - I'm fairly useless at that - but it didn't look too bad  I had to be careful around the rather nasty cut she has on the back of her head from where she fell off a kitchen chair at some point yesterday.  I have no idea how Dad managed to get her up off the floor, but he obviously did.  She watched me make the bed and then we went downstairs together for lunch.  So much better.  The test will be if she gets up for the carer tomorrow I suppose.  We have decided the kitchen chairs need replacing with something more substantial so a trip to John Lewis was made this afternoon and there was a rather good selection.

We treated ourselves to cake and a drink while we were there!

I hope RedFlash is enjoying her birthday party - we were very sad not to be able to get there.  We have promised ourselves a trip to Winchester one day this year!

in other news, big nephew has had an offer on a house accepted so it looks like he and his wife are moving on to the next stage in their lives.  I am very pleased for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.