Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

So silly looking

but so very unique!   An alpaca that got up close and personal looking for a handout.   Hubs and I went out for lunch and to run a few errands so I said let's go to the new alpaca farm which had an open house today.   There are 10 alpacas, 5 girls and 5 boys..this one was actually a year old and her momma was there too.   The woman owner showed me the alpaca wool that was sheared last year (they shear in early April here) but there was also some that she had carded, spun on spinning wheel to make a ball and some skeins.  She also had some off white wool she had dyed using red Kool Aid but she said she was going to try beet juice and blueberry/blackberry to get a darker wool.   Most of the alpacas are white, with one gray female and one dark brown male.     It was a nice little visit with this young couple who are trying to be alpaca farmers!  

Alpacas are not very good about letting people touch them..except this one. I did get to pet her fuzzy head.   Alpacas have strange front teeth (which get even stranger as they get older)  and strange feet..two toes with soft bottoms..not a hoof at all like I thought.  Now that I have met them in person..more research!!   

They are so silly looking that I had to post for Silly Saturday!!  

A couple extras of the herd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.