Leaf

This morning I stumbled across some tutorials for iPhone photography and wasted spent a lot of time trying to figure out the exposure/focus instructions. I now have about 200 pictures of our kitchen window from the living room. There are so many windows that the contrast is extreme. It's not as easy as they  make it look to equalize the exposure, but I think I'm on track enough to delete about 199 of the pictures of the kitchen window.

Taking pictures from an unusual angle or perspective is another one which is easier said than done, especially if the unusual angle involves getting lower. Once I got down on my knees, I spent a lot of time dealing with spider webs, dust and even some residual ash that aren't visible from the normal adult vantage point,  but didn't think anything in the kitchen looked any better from floor level than it does from a more comfortable position.

I went outside to see what I could do with reflections from the big pot with a bubbler in it, but the most likely source of the big leak in the irrigation system is apparently close to to it because OilMan has dug a big crater there which is rapidly turning into a mud hole. Not appealing for a low angle shot.

I finally gave up on my experimentations and, because it is such a beautiful day went out to cut down the cana lilies outside the living room windows. There is a strip along the back of the house which is planted with tropical plants...Streletzias, philodendrons and the canas, which have all gone crazy this year and are threatening to take over. I toiled away amongst the cobwebs back there, leaving a mound of cuttings for OilMan to put in the compost.

Just as I was realizing that I hadn't taken a single picture I wanted to publish, OilMan came in with a handful of cana leaves which look nice with the late afternoon sun shining through them....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.