Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Sandbag

I took a taxi (as there are no other transport options) to go across town to meet friends. Unfortunately he broke down which means expensive repairs but a backup arrived and I was on my way. While he was waiting for assistance he picked up one of these little bags that were dotted along the side of the road and used it as a marker. How ingenious I thought. I asked the next driver about it who explained that it was actually sand and dirt swept up from the side of the road, and the bag will be used until it's filled. What else would you get the cheap, imported labour to do...

Nice coffee with friends then it was off to a monthly farmers market at the same place as last week's coffee festival. Today I wasn't the only expat. Some lovely homemade and specialty produce was available. I saw some lovely local honey from some urban farms (as they're called) and it tasted amazing. At about 22gbp for 250g, so it should! I just purchased a kilo of broccoli to make soup.

Then it was off to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.