Undercovercairo

By Undercovercairo

Cocoa Room

The Cocoa Room is known for its breakfasts, well at least that's what Instagram tells me, but to be fair, it has been recommended too. I tried to go last year, but it had moved. So, I went today. In the same place as the dancing fountains last week. It was a nice drive up Arabian Gulf Street. Unfortunately the cafe was in the shade, but many others weren't. Anyway, I was hoping breakfast would be pretty. I ordered a pancake with berries and chocolate. Very sweet, too sweet - it had dark and white chocolate double drizzled , as they do here, and one crepe. Nice, but maybe I'll go savoury next time. Good coffee. It's all about being seen. The prices were high but good to do. And I enjoyed the walk in the surrounding garden for its unusual to hear birds, and could also smell the ocean.

After I went in search of an ATM and so explored a little of the city centre. First stop The Sheraton - another Instagram choice. The building is Unesco listed because it was the first luxury hotel, and miraculously, it survived the invasion, although it was damaged. The interiors are stunning - the marble was pinks and golden, and beautiful chandeliers - a small public space, but beautiful nevertheless. Lots of men in dishdashers (Arab dress). Well worth a look.

Then I wandered around the city - it was an older, poorer part and you could see the occasional remnant of old Kuwait. I noticed one of the buses that goes past home so took it. While it took forever to get through the city, and we almost crashed into a car, it was an interesting ride. And at an 1/8 of a taxi fare worth it, especially after my expensive breakfast.

A swim, some cooking, admin and washing and the weekend was over.

And a little gesture of kindness from the little local Egyptian fruit and veg seller. He wondered why I'd bought so little so I explained I had no cash, but it probably came across as no money with the lack of language - you can pay tomorrow. It's nice to still have that local spirit in this city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.