Hot yoga(rt)

I had lunch with Katharine, a student at Cambridge who wants to move into conservation when she graduates. I tried to conjure up some pearls of wisdom on career development, based on my own experiences. I offered to help talk to some people about setting up placements if she can identify projects or countries of specific interest. It's true but not very enlightening for someone in her position to hear that in a competitive field like international conservation, luck and perseverance are key ingredients for getting onto the career ladder.

I didn't work a full day but joined some meetings to advance my engagement in our Liberia work. We've won some new large grants and the project I was formerly involved with in 2016 has met some problems. Much to get up to speed on and to figure out how I can assist. As I left the office the sunset was looking pretty beyond the university buildings on Pembroke St.

I scoffed too much salami and yogurt before cycling vigorously to hot yoga. These classes are draining at the best of times, and especially when entering feeling nauseous.

I eventually made it to Asda at about 11pm. Has anyone ever successfully placed their own bags at a supermarket self checkout so that the system recognises them? Or, like me, are you left with a flashing beacon, no staff member in sight and a rising temper? My strategy reverts to scan, place loose and fling items rabidly into my own bags after paying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.