Overload

A long and tiring day - up and out of the hotel at 8.20 with all twenty students - always a bonus to finish the week with the same number of kids that you started with - and colleague Francis of course, and off to Amsterdam airport where the personal security check was most intrusive and very unwelcome. I'm told it's because of the marijuana laws.  There followed a bout of heavy cheese shopping before a very full flight home. Landing in Istanbul, the passport control was grossly overcrowded making it an unpleasantly hot and noisy slow moving queue.  The journey back to school was fine at least - school coach - but the weather was horrible - very heavy rain, so goodbyes to the students were quick before Francis drove me the short distance to my door and was kind enough to carry my cases up all the stairs, by which time is was around 20.00ish.  Much cuddling with some happy cats,  I lasted little more than an hour before leaving the unpacking and falling in to bed. I feel like I haven't had a decent night's sleep for days - oh , wait a minute.....

This marks the close of THIMUN visit to the Netherlands for 2018. The last few days have been particularly long and busy - with neither time nor energy to attend to Blip, so the last three entries are being written on Monday 5th Feb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.