Kendall is here

By kendallishere

A Die-In and a Vigil

A Filipino organization called Bayan staged a die-in today to call attention to the killings of activists, indigenous people, and Moro (Muslim) people in the Philippines. From the handbill distributed at the event:

“Since Rodrigo Duterte became President of the Philippines in June 2016, over 14,000 people have died in extrajudicial killings. The U.S. has provided the Duterte regime with $9M for a bloody war on drugs and another $47M in military aid. With this aid, the regime has engaged in 30 aerial bombardments near Marawi City.” 

In addition to the killings, thousands of women have been raped and countless children terrorized. Farmers have lost their lands, and many have fled their homes. Masses suffer from hunger and ill health. Several of the speakers were moved to tears, but a singing group called Kasama Band (see Extras) lifted spirits and exhorted all to organize, organize, organize.

In addition to photographing the Die-In, I also posted my second Medium article. Thanks for responding to my questions about Medium. It may be preaching to the choir, as only like-minded people will "follow" any author on Medium, but if it builds community, strengthens purpose, and encourages people to keep working for what they love, that's worth doing. I think it takes a while to build up a readership on any platform. I've been on Blip nearly 8 years now, and I felt I didn't really settle into my voice--or the community--till about the third year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.