Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Platforms

For a few days this week I was banned from a social media site where I regularly post photographs of social justice activism. Someone (perhaps someone who disagrees with my politics) questioned whether I am known in my “everyday life” as Kendall. I am, of course, and after many emails and attachments I eventually proved that I am and was reinstated, but the experience sharpened my awareness that we can lose control of our words and photographs on social media, that our work can be suppressed or commodified. I texted a couple of young friends who are more tech-savvy than I, and one of them suggested I consider Medium as a place to post social justice photography/resistance photography. I’d heard of Medium because someone recently posted an interview with me on it, but Medium is a platform for words, so it didn’t occur to me that it could work for photographs. This is my first post, and I’d appreciate your thoughts and opinions about how the site works as an outlet for photographs and ideas. Is posting there preferable to posting on social media? Does it load quickly and easily? Is it accessible? Any other thoughts?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.