Record Snow Depth!

Yesterday I spent three hours shifting the snow from the main roof, and the veranda roof, at Betty's.  Towards the end of the job I noticed I was no longer sliding snow off the edge of the veranda but was forced to throw it slightly upwards to get rid of it.  Yes, the height of the snow pile around the lower roof was higher than the roof itself!  I'm actually standing on the snow pile, about 2,5 metres above the ground, to take this picture. A ladder is no longer required! By the time I'd finished yesterday it was too dark to take a photo, hence today's shot.
Today we had visitors, ex-colleagues, one of whom comes from  this area. She confirmed that she couldn't remember ever having seen so much snow before, and she's about 75 years old.
All this snow is a lot of work but after several winters with relatively little snow and temperatures that rarely dropped below -5°C it is SO LOVELY to have a real winter!  I do hope it stays like this for the next couple of months because once spring starts a combination of deep snow and a warming sun will make for a snowy paradise!
I backblipped yesterday's picture a few moments ago. If you are interested it's here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.