Mono Monday : : Far from Ordinary

This beautiful old Mercedes Benz stood outside the Pilates studio this morning in all it's gleaming perfection. There are silver ashtrays, with lids, next to the back windows. (I have to renew my driver's license and take the written test for the first time in forty years. I just learned today that one is not permitted by California law to smoke in a car carrying a minor.) There was a wicker basket with leather hinges in the back seat...a picnic basket? a large handbag? a tool kit? It had a license plate that said, DAY 600. What does that mean? Since when? Until what?

It was parked in front of the bakery next door which is owned and run by a lovely Iranian couple who speak French and have an 11 year old daughter. He used to be an engineer in Iran, but decided he wanted to be a baker in Sonoma County instead. 

They founded the French American School nearby so that their daughter could continue to use her French. I never thought it would succeed here, but it seems to be doing fine. 

The bakery, which is never open when I am in that part of town, makes only bread and only about four different kinds of bread a day. It's very good and very expensive. They have chocolate bread on Saturday. I never thought the bakery would succeed either, but people line up outside and wait for it to open at 1:30pm.

Could this be their car?  If I don't know the full story, I may have to make one up....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.