A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

We Will Remember Them :: MMC18

MMC18 #06


Today I should have been at the graveside of my great great uncle who died from his wounds on this day 100 years ago. The trip was booked a while back but events over the weekend prevented me from making the journey.


I have visited his resting place a number of times, the last back in November 2014. EuroTunnel have kindly let me change the date of travel, they are ever so good at things like that. I will visit in April.


This is a cap badge of the Rifle Brigade, his regiment. They had been stationed along The Menim Road at the time of his death. I bought the badge on-line a while back. 


The image of my great great uncle belongs to his great grand daughter. Tragedy struck the family again when his widow and youngest child, whom it is believed he never saw, were killed by the flu epidemic the following year.


Alfred James Johnson WHISTON


We Will Remember You

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.