Morning . . . After the Storm

You might recognize this view from yesterday's blip. Yes, this is another shot of the road in front of our house. It was morning. The snow was done but the roads weren't in too great a shape yet. Against all odds, the mailbox was still standing.

The sky was starting to clear out and the clouds were amazing. The light was breaking in a really enchanting way, and I ran out with my camera to get some photos. I stood in our drive way to take this shot, feeling grateful for the white and blue beauties of winter.

The latest snow totals: Sunday's snowstorm left four inches of snow in town, but we got a bit more than six out where we live. Winter is a time when a 100-foot drive way doesn't seem like such a great thing, actually. My husband shoveled it all by himself, a considerable job. I cleared the snow off the deck, my only outdoor task.

It turned into a really beautiful day, if you like fresh snow, bluebird skies, and dramatic clouds. It was also quite cold, and it will stay that way all week. February is here, folks. Welcome to cold and snowy central Pennsylvania.

We're expecting another three to six inches* of snow and ice on Wednesday, which will disrupt things around here considerably. I'll either take the bus or work at home that day. But all of that's another day's worries. For now, let's just enjoy this lovely morning, after the storm.

I was searching for songs about storms to use as my soundtrack for this image, and I found this one, which I listened to for the very first time today: After the Storm, by Mumford and Sons. Here is a section of the lyrics that especially resonated with me:

And there will come a time, you'll see, with no more tears.
And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears.
Get over your hill and see what you find there,
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.

*Updated info on Wednesday's impending snowstorm: local forecasters are now calling for four to eight inches (AccuWeather) or six to eleven inches (Weather Channel).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.