Blips by cb

By cbimages

Do birds have this view?

I suppose that they do.  I have a newly acquired camera drone, a DJI Spark, which I try to fly frequently but without annoying anyone.  On my way home this afternoon I planned to stop and photograph this church, the Abbey Church of St Leonard at Old Warden.  I planned to climb the drone up the side of the tower and record the movement on video.

When I reached the church there were two cars in its car park which put me off somewhat.  I hope to avoid any confrontation in quiet places with people enjoying that quiet.  After about 10 minutes of vacillation, a dog-walker returned and drove away leaving one car in the car park; I decided to start my flying.

My first efforts were stills using manual exposure, as recommended by the professional, but I wasn't achieving very good results: everything was a little pale, washed-out, over-exposed.  So I returned to automatic, adjusted the camera for level and tried again.  I was too far from the tower to obtain the drama that I had planned, but there again I didn't want to intrude on the graveyard with my antics.  I'm happy with this still.

You can see Shuttleworth College in the background, at the 2 o'clock position; Old Warden airfield, home to the Shuttleworth Collection of aircraft and vehicles is just visible beyond the slight rise, at just right of the 12 o'clock.

This camera drone is very capable in flight, the camera is OK but I can't afford to be much adrift with my composition as there are too few pixels for cropping freely.  I'll keep practising as it is enormous fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.