Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Great Langdale in Snow

I left Edinburgh at stupid 'o' clock but that meant I reached The Lakes at just after 9:00 am.  I headed toward Ullswater and started by visiting Martindale.  The conditions were crisp and clear, very crisp as the car was recording -4 deg C and while driving through the Scottish Borders it hit -10 deg! Brrrrr!

This time I was wary of the risk of slipping so donned some boot grips and didn't find any issues walking up Hallin Fell to capture images of Martindale Common (see extra) and Ullswater.  It's not often you get days like this so I made the most of it and popped to various locations before finishing up coming down from Blea Tarn into Great Langdale.  I've never had the pleasure of being in The Lakes when snow has fallen at low level.  Wow, is all I can say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.