Ives Head with Snow

I have long wanted to photograph Ives Head, the hill that overlooks Shepshed, under snow. Quite unexpectedly I got my chance this morning while driving along the back road to Ashby en route to Staunton Harold. Could have done with a polariser but naturally, I didn't have one with me.

The waterlogged fields in the foreground on either side of the line of trees that marks the course of the Grace Dieu Brook, lie on its flood plain. The landowner wants to sell the land for building. Very conveniently, the Environment Agency has decided that there is no flood risk in Shepshed. Try telling that to the developers building houses at KingsGate on the way out to Hathern.

Basil and I had a wonderful time at Staunton Harold. It was a glorious winter's day. Despite ice on the surface of the reservoir, it was pleasantly warm in the sunshine. Basil and I sat out surveying the lake for a good half hour, until he began to get cold. We went to the Ferrers Arts Centre courtyard for hot chocolate and gravy biscuits for Baz. I sat him on my lap for a bit to warm up.

I tried several multi exposure shots, none of which worked. It happens that way. I need to put a graphic design head on to assemble an idea of what images, colours, textures go together.

On the way home, we stopped at New Lount Nature Reserve. This was the site of the New Lount colliery which was in production from 1924-1968. I would never have expected to find a colliery here although it must be sited on Coal Measures rocks. The shafts were covered over and the site abandoned for some years before the National Coal Board installed three ponds to prevent opencasting. All sorts of birds, flora and fauna have made their homes now. I hope the ponds might be a good spot for dragonflies in the summer.

Leicestershire County Council completed restoration of the site in 1997 with support from European funds and the Government.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.