My Granny Baker

This is the Auntie Maggie I spoke of yesterday. Florence was my dads mum, and this was my mothers step mother. She was never called step mother or step grandma she was always mam,ma or granny to all the family. 

My mothers real mother went off with another man in 1912 when mum was 2 her elder sister 4 and her younger sister 10 months old,  so I have no photo's of her, and Granddad refused to speak of her, it was Maggie's brother who told mum about her mother leaving them. Granddad met Maggie in 1917 when he was injured in the war and was in hospital.

Researching my family history, I found second cousins in Australia who I am in touch with, some from Ludlow, Shropshire and one who lived in the midlands who I have met, but the best was one in Cornwall, who had no idea he had any relatives in any other part of England and when we talked on the phone he was almost in tears, his grandma and my granddad were brother and sister, and him and his wife came up to meet me. Michael was born in the same month and the same year as me, it was his birthday yesterday and we have been chatting on the phone tonight. We found each other purely by chance through his son picking up on my family tree on ancestry, he contacted me and it went from there. Amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.