'Shin cup'

Laura invited me to join lunch with the calendar description 'shin cup - one month is too long', explaining that I didn't need to bring anything. Feeling none the wiser I joined and Laura prepared a very tasty spinach and tofu shin cup (turned out to be a Korean pot noodle-type affair). We said we'd have shin cup again but I've only been invited into the fold because I live near the Korean supermarket and Laura lives deep in the fens.

I prepared for my annual appraisal next week, by completing our standard self-assessment form. In case it wasn't bleedingly obvious, I felt like reaffirming that more and more I enjoy spending time out of the UK. So I did. My contract already states up to 50% international travel but I thought no harm in underlining it. My boss Jo isn't easily fazed.

The daily pattern at the moment is bright starts followed by hideous wintry showers. I honestly believe human beings should never have settled these latitudes. For much of the year they're unfit for human habitation.

I went to yoga where in jivamukti each month one of the global gurus of the style recommends a theme. This month is anger and kindness, which for me is highly relevant due to the levels of (mostly inner) bike rage that it's easy to experience in Cambridge. Teacher Hayley regaled us with car rage of her own, which was useful as a reminder that we're all mere mortals with short fuses. My left hamstring has a pull of sorts so I'm less flexible on one side, which must look odd. Feeling sub-par I didn't launch into full headstand as if this move is over-thought, the fear of toppling on top of the neighbouring yogi's mat can defeat me.

Iceberg lettuce is indestructible judging by the specimen inhabiting my fridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.