Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The MiddleFinger

The anthropology of rude gestures is fascinating and has a long tradition. Apparently the middle finger goes back two and a half thousand years to ancient Rome and potentially even beyond, a man's way of belittling someone sexually without the necessity of dropping your trousers (never advisable at the best of times but particularly on a wet and windy day like today). In Kuwait nodding means no, in Japan avoiding eye contact is a sign of respect rather than avoidance, and in Brazil the circular finger and thumb "okay" gesture is considered an obscene insult.

At least the deliberate hand signal is overt; researchers say that the bigger issue is the 65% of our communication that is non-verbal and often not the subject not of conscious intent but unconscious (and often habitual) body language. As the NLP folk say, you cannot not communicate (think about it). I was recently given some feedback about my slouching which is true; it's the curse of the tall person (I'm 6'3") that they often want to make themselves small.

Maybe I should just make myself as large as possible and be more assertive. After I wrote this I found an article on the internet entitled "Are you a sloucher, a baboon or just plain pushy?". It's worth reading but in real life it's practice and constant reflection that counts. Old habits die hard they say - but some people say you can change quite quickly.

Maybe I'll have a look for that inner baboon ...

Today the long grey Friday was relieved by an impromptu team lunch from the fish and chip shop. Naughty but nice as they say. The blip is an infected and bloody painful middle finger to which I applied magnesium sulphate, a dressing, and a feeble smiley face. No rudeness intended. The evening has been a fail - TSM and I falling asleep on the settee at 8pm. Will do better tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.