Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

You had a bad day...

...The camera don't lie
You're coming back down, and you really don't mind ...

- Daniel Powter

Actually the camera potentially does lie, irrespective of whether you get the image as far as photoshop. All photography is subjective and open to manipulation purely on grounds of choice of perspective and what you select to shoot. I have a lovely little hardback book on Henri Cartier-Bresson called "The Mind's Eye" in which he says that "the camera is a sketch book, an instrument of intuition and spontaneity, the master of the instant which, in visual terms, questions and decides simultaneously." For Cartier-Bresson with his hand held Leica, his communist beliefs and his uncompromising approach to image making, the integrity of his pictures was everything. But at the end of his life he put the camera away and went back to sitting on the rooftops with his sketchbook.

Maybe he had just had too many decisive moments and needed a rest before he died.

I didn't have a bad day. I had another thoughtful day. I tried to be a good colleague and help out the people I was working with and I actually became enthusiastic about something I was working on for for a while this afternoon. I think this really is a period, as Mr C says, for sharpening the saw and getting my appetite back.

Aged P rang me nine times at work today, convinced she had been abandoned. Must be scary.

Went to see a sixth form college for The Dizzle tonight. This blip was taken in the sociology department where they had made cardboard cut-outs of people to represent different stereotypes. I thought they were rather cute ... When I get home the Dizzle and I watched Daniel Powter singing Bad Day on YouTube. Great song that one ...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.