Now and then - or then and now.

This afternoon I took advantage of the clear sky and bright sunshine and went up Pulpit Hill and beyond to have a better look at the old Curling Ponds down below the radio mast. For those of you who don't know what these are, they were ponds which froze over in winter and were used to play the game of Curling, which involved sliding heavy polished granite stones, sometimes called rocks, across the ice. These ponds were actually a dammed burn which fed water down to a kipper factory near the harbour.

I had a nice boggy walk ducking under trees and climbing over barbed wire and took this photo from the far end.

My extra is another picture from a similar spot - not taken by me, I hasten to add, but probably in Edwardian times when winters were colder! (I've added a second extra, taken from a Catalina in 1941. The ponds are over to the right. A notable absence of trees!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.