Community Payback

Driving down the hill towards the town yesterday en route to the shops we noticed what looked like a funicular railway up the hill on the other side of the bay. It soon became obvious that it was the jib of a huge crane and not beside the hill at all! It was beginning to get windy and it looked very vulnerable!

Today I needed to get out of the house for some fresh air so decided to do a litter pick round my usual circuit. As I walked along Ardconnel Terrace I noticed that the crane was folded down and assumed it was the crane  to be used in the replacement of Oban's ferry linkspan. I hadn't brought my heavy Nikon with me, so this Blip was taken with my tiny Canon.

On my way home, wearing my 'Keep Oban Beautiful' hi-vis vest in an attempt to spread the word, I stopped to talk to a friend and commented that some people waved or gave me a thumbs-up, but most people ignored me or looked the other way. She suggested that passers-by probably thought I was doing my Community Payback in return for some misdemeanor, but then thinking she might have caused offence added that they wouldn't be allowed out on their own! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.