Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani

This carving is one of the Forest Stations in Lincoln Cathedral carved by William Fairbank. It shows Jesus being executed and reminded me immediately of his words on the cross. My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?

The smallness of the writhing body conveys how small and alone he may have felt in his agony. The crack in the wood could equally well be the rent in the temple veil that occurred at the moment of his death, when an earthquake hit Jerusalem.

The final panel in the series is called 'Illumination.' It's an abstract and shows an elliptical shape in the middle of the wood from which rays radiate. I remarked to a passing chaplain that it reminded me of the symbol of the pharoah Akhenaten, who eschewed all the Egyptian gods in favour of Ra, the sun god. She said that she would tell Mr Fairbank. She had not been aware.

Lincoln Cathedral is magnificent. See extra of the nave. I took my tripod but photos were woefully inadequate. In addition, I'd forgotten how to adjust the shutter speed settings in the T mode. I'm very minded to take my Canon camera another time with a tilt-shift lens.

But primarily, Len and I were visiting George, Kat and William on their week away. They'd invited us for the day and kindly dogsat Basil in the Magna Carta pub while we took a quick look at the cathedral.

After late lunch, we adjourned to their accommodation and enjoyed the hot tub watching the sunset. Small birds were frustrated visiting the feeders nearby because they'd already eaten what had been put out for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.