Life Savors

By osuzanna

New Mexico Sunset

Yesterday morning was spent packing and getting the house ready for 3 weeks away.  The afternoon was spent airborne and the evening found us in lovely Santa Fe, New Mexico.  

We were off early this morning to Taos, where we went to the Taos Pueblo which has been inhabited by the Native Americans for about 1000 years.  They do not allow cameras or cell phones on the site, so there are no pics to share. And yes I was a tad frustrated.  From Taos we went to Los Alamos to the Bradbury Science Museum.  Los Alamos was the site of the Manhattan Project and where the nuclear bombs that ended WWII were developed.  During the war, it was a quickly constructed remote military facility, now it is a thriving little town with an amazing history and a government lab that still does work in this field, but now with a focus on deterrence.  

For the last two nights, we have found ourselves on the highway when the skies lit up in every direction. Last night I grabbed my pocket RX100 to get a shot out the car window only to discover there was no card in it, and my other cameras were in the trunk.  I tried using the iPhone, but the results, taken at 60 mph, were quite pathetic.  I have often seen paintings of New Mexico sunsets and thought how artificial the colors looked.  Well, I have learned that those colors are quite accurate and they occur almost every night.  

This shot was taken while stopped at a traffic light.  I had my husband inch forward to avoid a lamp post that was in my way and I was able to zoom in on this tree against the magnificent sky.  I have done nothing to the colors - this is the way they look. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.