Parkrun tourism

Today I did my first tourist volunteering.  I'd hoped to tail walk so I would get to check out the course too but this was not to be and I was rostered on to timekeep.

The forecast was was for a chilly start and as I suffer from Raynauds', I was a little concerned that I'd struggle but I knew that the field was much smaller than my home event and with two pairs of gloves on and mittens over them I prepared as best I could.

Arriving early, I was pleased to find free parking and toilets close to the start (its the little things that are important).  One of the volunteers Chris, who later told me he'd done over 150 runs himself was on hand to welcome me in the usual, friendly parkrunner way. and we had a little chat as others began to arrive.

Just after 9am, having taken charge of my hi viz and stopwatch from the equally friendly Carly, Barbara the run director checked that us timekeepers were ready and sent the runners off on their way.

Having a multilap course is advantageous when you want to take photos and play a part at the end as you know the majority of people will pass once before you need to concentrate too much on your role.

I enjoyed seeing everyone come past but, as usual, it was the dogs that captured my heart.

The numbers at BOC are much lower than Maldon and there is a reasonable distance from the last turn to the finish funnel so I was able to get some photographs and then click people through for a while before Chris (who I mentioned already) crossed the finish and offered to take over so I could get more pictures.

As usual, I got carried away and took lots.  I've added a couple of extras which, along with the 4 legged runners, sum up what parkrun is about for me; family fun and volunteering.

I'd definately volunteer at Burnham again in the future and am looking forward to running it too.


  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.