Milestones, goals, motivation and habit

During a small catch up session yesterday, I had a notification that today would be a 'milestone'.

My own blip milestone is at the beginning of each new year as it was January 1 2012  when I decided that I would attempt a daily photo challenge.  I backblipped a months worth of pictures when I began blipping in February 2012 and the 'blipcounting' when off track, I think, around when the platform changed.

That said, with a blue sky above me and knowing that my picture might have a few more visitors than usual, I decided I'd pay a visit to my favourite tree that I have been photographing on and off for a while now as part of a 'one tree' project.  The other pictures I'd taken up to that point were off a building site hoarding during my early morning run, my Sainsburys vegetarian breakfast, my mother walking Ripley and a few abstract/randoms.

The blue sky became more and more black as I walked to the tree and I'm sure that my sunglasses offered good protection for my eyes during the hail that I walked home in.  It was still a pleasant walk as I don't venture that way daily anymore on account of short/no dog walking.

Since the notification yesterday I have been creating some trackers to record my parkrun goals and milestones (I'm sure they will be blipped at some point).  Thinking about motivation, I track intermittently both food and weight goals.  I write lists and keep journals.  I am quite visual and enjoy numbers and stats.

Thanks to everyone who drops by now and again.   This is a habit now and I'm here to stay.

Roll on the next milestone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.