My life

By pops

Candlelight

Tea tonight was an early valentines meal as we’ll both be working on Wednesday.
Our favourite, steak and pepper sauce with all the trimmings, accompanied by red wine.

Candles burning along with this oil lamp, my son bought it for us many years ago, he told me he was buying us an oil lamp obviously not sure about it but quite excited about what he’d found.
I was prepared to smile nicely (as mothers do)and thank him for what I thought would be a traditional oil lamp with coloured glass chimney, really not wanting one but prepared to offer it shelf space and pretend to be thrilled in order not to deflate his obvious pride at finding such a wonderful gift!

There was no pretence needed, we opened this on Christmas morning and were truly delighted! It’s beautiful and not at all what I’d imagined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.