CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

70013 'Oliver Cromwell' – speeding through Stroud

I was in two minds about going to the station to watch this steam engine passing through Stroud on its way back to London. It was running a bit late and the sun had officially already set and the thick clouds were hanging low, although the rain had finally ceased.

There weren't as many people watching the spectacle as is usual which made it easier to find a place to take pictures. I still don't use flash so had to rely on the station's platform lights.

I did get wider shots but liked this view as the engine driver was looking straight at me, with the light from the fire illuminating his cab. I must start using my external flash gun, which lies idle, despite part of me really wanting to play with off camera flash. Maybe next time. Except that for this engine it is the last time it will run through for some while. It's 'boiler' permit is running out and may not be replaced.

I have just found this video of 'Oliver Cromwell"', taken by a man standing just beside me. It gives a good impression of the speed and the sound of the engine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.